Learn More

Natural Hazards

Variable Definitions:

There are 18 specific natural hazards or consequence types included in the National Risk Index. NDSC includes 5 relevant hazards for California: wildfires, drought, coastal flooding, and earthquakes. 

Exposure is comprised of three categories: people, agriculture, and buildings. The exposure variable quantifies the value of buildings (in dollars), population (in people), or agriculture (in dollars) potentially exposed to a natural hazard occurrence.

Expected Annual Loss represents the average economic loss in dollars resulting from natural hazards each year

Historic Loss Ratio (HLR) is the hazard- and county-specific estimate of the percentage of the exposed consequence type expected to be lost due to a hazard occurrence.


Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Years Available:

Data supporting the National Risk Index were collected from both publicly accessible resources and organizational connections. Data were last collected between January 2014 – April 2021. 


Why are these variables important to measure?

The variables within the National Risk Index help communities to visualize the level of risk to natural hazards their particular regions face. Further, the expected annual loss and historic loss ratios frame the economic and social consequence of a natural hazard occurring. Equipped with key information, communities can anticipate and reduce risk while developing long-term hazard mitigation plans. 


Federal Emergency Management Agency. “National Risk Index”. Department of Homeland Security. Retrieved from https://hazards.fema.gov/nri/learn-more

Related Data Stories

Policy Areas

Close Menu